Droofus, a book, and one lost head.

I got something fun for today. I thought it would be a good idea to share some of my very favorite books from my childhood and the very first one that comes to mind is Bill Peet’s ‘How Droofus the Dragon Lost His Head’. I adored this book so much that my copy of it is in tatters. If you haven’t read it check out this You Tube and listen to Sarah Strand read it to you.

Bill Peet is just an awesome artist, he was a story man for Disney and by himself drew out the storyboards for 101 Dalmatians and The Sword in the Stone. Check out his son’s website for him: Bill Peet

This book had a big influence on my life in a few ways. Artistically it further fueled my love of fantasy and dragons, and things medieval. I loved Peet’s layouts across the pages and the way he used black and white spaces to help illustrate and visually tell the story.

Through the course of the story Droofus has some sad things happen to him but through it all he adapts and he helps others. The idea that no mater what happens to you, you can choose how you adapt to it was a huge and wonderful idea to me. There have been a lot of unfortunate things that have happened to me in my life, and I know that this book and the concept of positive adaptation helped me get through a lot of garbage.

I have a bunch of other books I would love to share and in the future you may see fairies, tin men, unicorns, more dragons, and much more.

One Response to “Droofus, a book, and one lost head.”

  1. I bought this book because of your recommendation. I love it! I hope you share more of your favorites, Bobbie!

Leave a Reply

