New Jewelry, New Con, and the sad/practical truth about my art.

Had to miss last weeks blog, It is my busy season.  However I figured I needed to write something for this week so I decided I would talk a little about my art and how it goes.  Firstly, the new con news….  I passed the jury and was accepted into the DragonCon art show!!!!!!!  This is huge for me, I am so excited!

I am having some significant issues with a particular convention and their lack of communication.  I have been waiting for weeks for my art to be returned to me and it got me thinking.  I think there is this huge misconception out there about artists and they money they make.  I cannot afford in any way for a box of art to disappear.

I am going to open my studio doors and let you all in on a few things.  I make no money.  In the year and a half that I have determinedly been sending my art to shows and trying to be an actual artist I have not even made the money back that I have spent. Not nearly.

If I am lucky a convention show will only charge $5-$20 per panel space for their show and then $5 or so for print show space, $30 is totally reasonable and acceptable for getting in a show.  Then there are the mail in fees, some as low as $.25 per piece and some as high as $40.  Add to that shipping both ways which will run from $10-$20 each way and before you know it you are in $50 or so for a single show.  And I am lucky if I sell a single $20 piece at any given show.  This doesn’t take into account the costs for prints, foam board, mat board, adhesives, deco papers, time crafting each print, etc.

So why am I doing it?  Not for fame, not for money, not even for a sense of accomplishment.  I do it because I am a huge nerd.  I am so nerdy about the pictures and stories that I make up I just want to find others who like the same subjects and things.  I need more people to nerd out with me about Bustle racers and giant spider silk factories, Steampunk Fairies, and Victorian dead things…

And there it is.  My art does not yet financially support itself at all.  I will say this… My jewelry does sometimes, but I have nearly zero online sales (just a few from friends and family).  I only make a little at the 6 or so cons I do in a year.  It is rough going but the thought of quitting these creative endeavors just makes me sad.

With all that said I will leave you with some new jewelry sets that will be for sale at this summer’s upcoming events: ConDuit and Salt City Steamfest

Go ahead and click to see them closer.  I have more new jewelry sets coming next week including some that will only be available online in my etsy shop: Metallic Visions.

Leave a Reply

