Wrist, Stomach, Art.

It is taking me titanic effort to write anything today. I feel so desperate for isolation and sleep. Why? Well, First, my wrist is worse than I thought and I am going to need to get surgery for it in the next few months. I couldn’t finish Inktober/Drawlloween because of it. Which really bummed me out.

Second, I have (after much deliberation and seeing 2 sisters, my dad, and his sister doing it) decided to get the Gastric Sleeve surgery. This is the one where they remove 80% of your stomach. All my family members who have gotten the surgery are doing great and have lost nearly 300lb combined. My surgery will be on January 7th. At my fattest I was 455lb and with Fibromyalgia, Sleep Apnea, Insulin resistance and PCOS, plus my low functioning thyroid I need the help.

I started the pre-op diet last week. No sugars, no carbs… ugh it has been hard. The cravings and temptations are awful but the very nasty withdrawals and de-toxing has been worse. The whole point of it is to get my fatty liver as trim as possible to prevent trouble.

However, yesterday I felt sore and achy but clear headed and focused like I haven’t in years. If this is what I get to look forward to I will gladly take it. So much of my life for the past 20 years has been eaten by brain fog. I hate brain Fog.

The odd benefit I didn’t foresee is that I have been terribly productive in making jewelry and designing the last half of the pictures I need for my new ‘Gothic Steampunk’ coloring book: “Madam Mezmerelda’s Digest of the Mystic, the Mad, and the Macabre.”

SO that is the update.  For good measure, here is a small look at the latest coloring book page I inked…

BarnabusWMsm

One Response to “Wrist, Stomach, Art.”

  1. I love your art! Good luck with the surgery. I’m doing the low carb diet, but not planning surgery right now, and the diet is super hard. But so worth it! My fibromyalgia is so much better now. I can get around without pain and my headaches are much better too! Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

